Things I Have Done Instead of Working on My Dissertation

by shewastheyoungamerican

We’re coming into the proverbial 11th hour…two weeks until the hand-in date. Here are a list of things I’ve done to occupy my time instead of just getting down to business (because it’s Friday night and I’m pathetically sitting alone in my kitchen being unproductive):

  • Painted my nails, repeatedly.
  • Counted the pennies in my coin jar. Two pounds, thirty-six pence.
  • LAUNDRY!
  • Bleached my bathroom.
  • Cleaned out my binder from my first term.
  • Started making a bag of clothes to donate to a charity shop.
  • Texted everyone I know about anything. AT ALL.
  • SNACK TIME, ALL THE TIME.
  • Went to the gym (once in about a month)
  • Wrote this blog post…and many more.
  • Ohh, my back is a bit sore, better stretch for 35 minutes.
  • Hey that carpet was fuzzy, LET’S VACUUM!
  • Yes, I will make my bed this morning.
  • Every meal I cook for myself must take a minimum of 30 minutes prep/cooking time. This includes cereal for breakfast.
  • I BET SOMETHING NEW HAS HAPPENED ON INSTAGRAM.
  • Better de-tangle all of my jewelry.
  • It’s definitely a great time to find missing socks.
  • Buzzfeed.
  • Screw it, let’s vacuum EVERYTHING.
  • Caught up on American politics, then felt woefully disillusioned.
  • Looked wistfully through photos of my time in college, old friends, new friends, adventures.
  • Watched Season Two of How I Met Your Mother. And Arrested Development.
  • Thought about ideas for new blog posts.

And yet I still haven’t:

  • Started to look for a replacement tenant when I have to move out of my flat.
  • Booked my flight back to the US.
  • Figured out that whole “Hey, whatcha doing after this whole Masters thing is done?”
  • Called my parents.
  • Booked my flight back to London for graduation in December.
  • Figured out when I’m actually leaving London.
  • FINISHED THIS DISSERTATION.

I can totally do this. Right, guys? GUYS?

