Reasons to be Bummed/ Not be Bummed While Being in England on the 4th of July

by shewastheyoungamerican

Reasons to be bummed:

  • NO HOT DOGS
  • No baseball – even though the Phils are totally choking this season, I’d still sit in the heat for the Philly Phanatic.
  • No beach weather, reasons to wear sun screen, or reasons to wear a bathing suit. (It’s the first year I actually had the guts to buy a bikini and homegirl wants to actually wear it)
  • BBQs in the UK severely lack the following: Potato salad, pasta salad, cubed cheese and pepperoni, ripple cut chips preferably with bacon and horseradish dip, and HOT DOGS. Have I mentioned the hot dog thing yet? The ones they sell in a CAN are really, genuinely upsetting.
  • Feeling very deeply the loss of summer. I’ve always been a hopeless romantic when it comes to the summer. Sitting on front porches with friends, sipping on cold beer or sangria and watching the fireflies for hours on end. Or getting that distinct smell of rain and watching a thunderstorm blow trees like twigs as I sit in Mindy’s living room watching 90s disaster films. Walking around the city in shorts and sandals, building calluses on the bottom of my feet like a cavewoman. I miss that. Summer is romantic for everyone. You fall in love with the people in your life in very different ways in the summer because everything feels a bit fleeting and nostalgic. It’s been 60 and raining since April and there’s no outlook of it stopping any time soon.
  • If I’m playing any sport today it has to be wiffle ball, kick ball or badminton. And that’s it. Sorry guys, no football/soccer today. I just can’t. You haven’t heard of wiffle ball, have you? Damn it.
  • The next chance of fireworks will be during the Olympics. We all know how everyone here actually feels about the Olympics.
Image

No seriously, you try explaining this to an English person.

 

Reasons to not be bummed:

  • HEY! I don’t have to watch truckloads of couples MAKING OUT all over the place during the fireworks. When you’re single, you see couples everywhere. Especially on holidays. I need not another reminder of being alone this year. HUZZAH!
  • Bruce Springsteen is still THE BOSS.
  • Red, white, and blue are also England’s colors… so I won’t be abused for sporting my ‘Murrican spirit.
  • When you’re an American abroad and you meet other Americans abroad, you quickly realize what it means to be “that American” and are thankful to not be “that American.”
  • You can still make really great burgers on the grill. I love BBQs, has that come across yet?
  • I don’t actually have to wear a bathing suit. Yes, that’s right. It’s not “winter weight.” It’s “year weight.”
  • I’m not as sweaty! Which is a good thing because deodorants/anti-antiperspirants are shall we say, far from effective in jolly ‘ole. I’ve come to realize people either wear too much cologne or not enough deodorant over here. And it’s nearly 100 degrees at home. BARF.
  • I don’t have to watch gross political advertisements all day about the upcoming election. I made my decision four years ago.
  • Getting texts from my English friends wishing me a Happy 4th of July – it’s very sweetly thoughtful. Because at the end of the day, I really miss my family and friends and everyone back home in the states. And it’s nice to feel loved. 
  • Realizing that I’ve actually been quite happy in England for the past few months. It’s still hard to be far away, but I also wouldn’t want to be far away from the life I have here, either.
Image

How precious is this?

 

 

