English People and American People Say Things Funny

by shewastheyoungamerican

No seriously. We do not speak the same language, I swear. For my fellow yanks at home – we know the kind of regional dialogues our fair nation has. For example, we call ’em hoagies on the east coast. Other people call ’em heroes or subs. The Midwest and Pittsburgh say “pop” instead of “soda” (which justifies my notion that those regions are stuck in 1952). Boston says a lot of things that are incoherent. In Philly, we drop a lot of articles in our sentences and refer to a summer trip as “goin down the shore.” You get what I mean. The “right way to call something” question is even greater when you’ve got the Atlantic ocean to divide us, not just amber waves of grain.

The huge debates/funny conversations I’ve had with friends and coursemates here in London over what the hell we call things and who is right (my English friends put their foot down, as “they were here first!”) are seemingly endless. Nationalism aside, it always proves to be a good laugh between us. Mostly because none of it makes sense. For me, I don’t understand how the English intend so much on being “polite” but call the bathrooms “the toilet.” Or feel the need to announce they are “going for a wee.” Kind of gross, don’t you think? Also, I am never EVER getting into the “fillet” or “filet” debate ever again. EVER.

So here’s a list of things that just don’t make sense between our nations:

Jump around or sweat:

In London, this is a jumper. In America, it’s a sweater.

We call this a jumper in America. Sometimes we would consider overalls jumpers as well. I don't know what they call these here.

And now, the great biscuit debate:

American biscuit. Great with butter and jam, dipped into gravy on the side of Thanksgiving dinner or mostly with fried chicken.
English biscuit. Most Americans would look at this and think “why, that’s a cookie.” But nay!

Cookies across the board are:

These. Perhaps my English friends could clarify- would you consider oreos and things of that manner a biscuit or a cookie? I WANT ANSWERS!                      

Candy?

I'm fairly certain all of these constitute as candy in America. But nay, not candy here, I say. Chocolates are chocolates only. And candy refers to sweets and sweets are...um?

These are sweets. I'm pretty sure we just call it candy in America, too.

A mode of transporting food, people…or both if you’re 15

This here, is a classic Amurrrican trolley. Hop on, hop off. It takes you places! Unless you live in Philly when SEPTA trolleys are notoriously late and/or useless.

An English trolley. Or an Ammurrican shopping cart. Which one excites you, dear readers?

 I know the list goes on and on. Have some to share? DO TELL?

