Things I am Thankful for This Year

by shewastheyoungamerican

You.

The way the yellow fall leaves are still clinging.

My wonderful friends, here and home.

All of the places that are home.

All of the people who are home.

The city of Philadelphia. And the way I fell in love with it in a completely different way.

Family, any way you’d like to define it.

Love, love, love.

Therapy.

Really good, stinky cheese.

Improv comedy.

Songs that make me smile because they trigger happy memories or because they make me want to dance or simply for no reason at all.

Unseasonably warm weather.

Clowning.

Places where you can move and shake any way you want to.

The friends who came over on “that night.” And the pizza, Milano cookies and wine that were in tow.

The friends who really stayed with me. Who propped me up. Who were there when I needed them the most. Who let me feel what I was feeling. Who never judged. Who gave me tough love when necessary. Who talked about it over coffee. Over dinner. Over episodes of our favorite shows. Who made me laugh. I can’t express how thankful I am for that.

Actually being here and doing this.

Greasy Chinese food.

Jose Garces and all of his culinary glory.

Chicago.

Thought Catalog.

My course leader, Selina. What a treasure that woman is.

Dr. Abioseh Porter. Nan Gilbert. Rona Buchalter. I refer to them as the League of Extraordinary Mentors.

Learning things about my parents I never, ever knew.

Primrose Hill.

Writing more than I have in ages. And letting go of the fear of being really honest.

London, for proving that no matter where you go or how far from home you may feel, good people are not only around, but they are plentiful.

Seafood. Particularly Smitty’s in Somer’s Point.

Big fluffy sweaters.

Voicemails from my grandparents on Sunday evenings.

My cousins.

Cheesesteaks.

The PCVB. And the world’s coolest boss.

Cider.

Mayor Karen.

The Wilmington Players.

Feeling like I’m really learning.

Deep. Tissue. Massages.

Becoming a coffee drinker. Bad habit, I know. But what a nice break in my day.

Lazy Sundays.

Hot tea. And biscuits.

My iPod that is going on 4 years strong.

Borough Market.

San Francisco. Outside Lands. The Bay.

The OG’s.

Shamelessly enjoying TV brain candy. I’m talking to you Jersey Shore.

The days I look in the mirror and thing, “damn, girl.”

Catherine O’Hara, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Kristin Wiig, Anjelica Houston, Joan Rivers, Kathy Griffin, Carol Burnett and all the funny women out there who make me so fiercely love what I do.

Hugs. Real ones.

My sister.

Mom.

Dad.

The year that I had nothing planned actually turned out to be the year full of the most surprises, the biggest changes and the best people. The highest highs and some of the lowest lows. This time one year ago, I didn’t actually know where I was heading. I applied for the scholarship, hoped for the best and made plans B-Z. I redefined “neurotic.” During that time I figured out the things I’m really good at, the kind of people I want to be around. I fell in love for the first time. I understood adulthood for the first time. I traveled a lot. I studied at the Second City. I performed in the Chicago Improv Festival. I started communicating with my parents in a new and better way. I worked with the great kids at Parkway Center City High and knew I needed to be a teacher. I got here.

I thank the Beach Boys for reminding me, “You Need a Mess of Help to Stand Alone.”

I am thankful for you. And the incredible person you are. The influence you have on me. The happiness you bring me and everyone around you. The joy you are in my life. The way you get me and the way I get you. I am so very thankful for you.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all.

