Lift off, almost.

by shewastheyoungamerican

Greetings from foggy, rainy…Philadelphia. No, I’m not quite there yet. Almost, almost. Six months of waiting dwindled to six weeks, then six days…and now…well, even less. I’ve cried more in the past two months than I ever have in my life – even when I was three and threw temper tantrums in my parents living room. Wailing, naked on the floor for things like a can of Pepsi or a Barbie doll. The crying has become a bit more dignified since then. Now it usually happens as soon as I leave a friend’s house and come home to see my suitcases half-packed on my floor. Sometimes it happens on SEPTA, sometimes it happens when I brush my teeth. I’ve stopped wearing mascara. It’s a combination of excitement, fear, euphoria, general disbelief, “did I make a terrible decision?” and heartbreak. I’m leaving. My God, I’m leaving.

I’m anxious. Who wouldn’t be? I’ve got this huge adventure ahead of me. Interesting people to meet, new things to learn, cities and countries to explore. It’s once in a lifetime, I know. As are the wonderful people who make up my life here in Philadelphia. Here in this rough and tumble city where people can be brutal, but always honest, where the streets aren’t always clean, but you can always find a hole-in-the-wall where someone will have a good story and beer that actually tastes like beer should. I love this town.

I love London, too. A friend of mine recently told me “I knew you weren’t done with London.” She was right. I studied abroad my Junior year and felt like I found the city where I made sense. It was a unique experience – three to four months of little responsibility in a global city living in a neighborhood I could never afford if Drexel hadn’t set up dorms there. But, it went beyond the luxury. It was a place where theater and art were readily available, and cheap! I could hop on the tube and feel like I could end up almost anywhere in the world. It’s charming pubs, bland food made by earnest folk, all of the “happening” of New York City without the expectation that it has to be New York. People are smart in London. People have an odd sense of humor. Television is curious. The parks are breathtaking. People rarely leash their dogs. Cars don’t generally stop for pedestrians. The lights during Christmas could make you cry they’re so lovely. Borough Market might be the most wonderful place on earth. A piece of me has always been in London. And now, I get to go back. Something I didn’t actually think would ever be in my cards. I am lucky. I am scared. I want to get there. I hate all of these farewells and need them just as much. I will be back sooner than I know.

I want to write letters and keep in touch.

Ok year, let’s do this.

